Marmot Library Network, Inc. COUNCIL MEETING May 15, 2009 Gateway Canyons, Colorado MINUTES

Mary Anne Hanson-Wilcox, President, Marmot Library Network, Inc., called the meeting to order at 10:45am.

Present: Lori Barnes, Town of Vail Library, Barb Brattin, Wilkinson Public Library, Betsy Brodak, Mesa State College, Charlyn Canada, Eagle Valley Library District, Lauren Cassatt, Aspen Schools, Kathy Chandler, Pitkin County Library, Joyce Dierauer, Summit County Library, Nancy Gauss, Western State College, Mary Anne Hanson-Wilcox, Grand County Library District, Diana Herald, Mesa County School District, Di Machado, Adams State College, Caroline Peters, Bud Werner Memorial Library (alternate for Chris Painter), Amelia Shelley, Garfield County Libraries, Eve Tallman, Mesa County Libraries, Mindy White, Colorado Mountain College, David Willis, Colorado Mountain College, Joel Robinson, Executive Secretary, Ex Officio.

Not Present: Kristen Becker, Basalt Regional Library, Nicole DeCrette, Steamboat Springs Schools, Larry Meredith, Gunnison County Public Libraries, Chris Painter, Bud Werner Memorial Library (alternate Carolyn Peters present), Pam Wilkerson, Plateau Valley School.

Also Present: Shelly Kilgas, Grand County Library, Carol McArdell, Pitkin County Library, Marmot staff: Keith Dedman, Sean Hanson, Mary Katherine Katzer, Roger Landauer, Steve Lindemann, Don Moeny, Mary Pickens, Jason Stow, Mary Vernon.

The Minutes of the May 11, 2008, Council meeting were approved upon motion by Kathy Chandler and second by Di Machado.

The election was held for members of the Marmot Executive Board. Kathy Chandler and Amelia Shelley were nominated for re-election. The academic members nominated Betsy Brodak. The slate was elected unanimously. The Executive Board members and their terms are: Betsy Brodak, Academic Libraries, 2011

Lauren Cassatt, School Libraries, 2010 Kathy Chandler, At-Large, 2011 Mary Anne Hanson-Wilcox, Public Libraries, 2010 Amelia Shelley, At-Large, 2011

The Council members discussed the proposed changes to the Marmot By-laws. There was discussion about who should sign checks in excess of \$25,000 in the absence of the Treasurer; there are few instances of this per year. "Community members" would be added to committees to provide the possibility for them to be added to advisory committees. There was discussion about the new treasurer responsibilities, but no changes to the draft were proposed. Charlyn Canada moved the By-laws be amended as proposed. Di Machado seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

The members discussed the Price Schedule for 2009-10 that the Board approved at their April meeting. There is no across the board CPI increase. Extended Technical Support will remain the same at \$53.80 per hour. There was discussion about deleting line items that no longer apply and reducing the fees for members that do their own loaders.

Based on discussions earlier in the day, the Executive Director Search Committee was created:

- Academic Libraries David Willis
- Public Libraries Barbara Brattin, Eve Tallman
- School Libraries Diana Herald
- Marmot Staff Sean Hanson (appointed subsequently)
- Mary Anne Hanson-Wilcox, Ex Officio

Mary Vernon will serve as secretary to the committee.

Marmot Council Meeting Minutes

The annual council meeting adjourned at 11:15am.

Respectfully Submitted,

foll Robinson

Executive Secretary